P.I. Engineering User Forum

Product Support, Technical Questions and Answers, and Examples for P.I. Engineering Products

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-12-14 11:25:52

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

Hi,

I am trying to map a remote to the x-keys box. This box will be connected to a LG set top box for control. What I was able to accomplish is programming the up, down, back, left, right and enter key. Simple. Now the hard part is stuff like Guide, channel up, channel down, menu, info, TV buttons. I was given the unicode but unsure here. I need some help please.

Thank you!

Offline

#2 2016-12-14 11:27:53

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

Hi,

I'm unsure what you're doing, exactly. What X-keys are you using? Are you running through software, or do you need hardware mode?


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#3 2016-12-14 11:28:36

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

Sorry - I'm using the X-24 model. In hardware mode.

Offline

#4 2016-12-14 11:30:40

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

The X-24 will replace the remote that normally talks to the LG Set Top Box. It can plug USB directly into it. I can program directional keys and "enter" key. but I need a bit more functionality. So is this possible? As I understand, software mode only runs with a computer and MacroWorks

Offline

#5 2016-12-14 12:03:59

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

Okay, so to clarify, we cannot send Unicode in hardware mode.

If there is an equivalent keyboard keystroke set/combination, or something of that nature then you can do it, but generally we cannot send commands that aren't built into the USB spec.

If you provide the document you're working with with the commands we can verify if yes or no.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#6 2016-12-14 12:05:14

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

thank you. I can send the document. What is the email address you prefer?

Offline

#7 2016-12-14 12:06:11

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

You should use tech@xkeys.com.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#8 2016-12-14 12:06:53

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

okay I will ask for it be forwarded to you.

Offline

#9 2016-12-14 12:08:40

ash146
Member
Registered: 2016-12-14
Posts: 6

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

sent

Offline

#10 2016-12-14 12:24:22

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: Trying to map a remote .. HELP!

Thanks. Looks like it should work, please give the standard keyboard a try and see if it works there. Keep us posted.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB