P.I. Engineering User Forum

Product Support, Technical Questions and Answers, and Examples for P.I. Engineering Products

You are not logged in.

#1 2016-09-09 16:36:13

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

World of Subways 4 Control Script

YOU CAN FIND THE SCRIPT IN MY SECOND POST
-------------------------------------------------------

Is there any way I can control WoS 4 with RailDriver?

I know that the game is 64bit and that's the reason it doesn't work. Have you made any 64bit dll/plugin?

Can it be controlled with MacroWorks somehow?

Thank you.

Last edited by vvmm (2016-10-04 03:09:36)

Offline

#2 2016-09-12 09:02:59

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Hi there,

We made a 64-bit DLL long ago. But, you're correct, the developers have left us out of WoS 4.

In any case, we're not particularly familiar with WoS 4 (we do not have a copy). But you can easily program keyboard keystrokes, using MacroWorks 3.1, to the blue buttons on the RailDriver. Or you could do what I suggest in the "RailDriver Developer" section for people who would like to control Trainz: A New Era. The answer there is the same for any sim that doesn't support us and hasn't given us a way in ourselves. http://xkeys.com/forum/viewtopic.php?id=41

The sad truth is in order for the RailDriver to be compatible with any game, we need cooperation from the developers of that simulator, either through them writing it in (which is lovely, and what WoS did in the past) or an API into their sim (where we pick up the actual RailDriver support).


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#3 2016-10-03 09:01:48

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

For anyone interested in WoS 4 with RailDriver, I've made a script to control the subway.
Here is the script to control WoS 4 with your RailDriver: https://1drv.ms/f/s!Ano7p-K16N1ogvZ6f0pX7vBy5T1qbA
I've also included the legends as docx file.
Further notes:
Alert button = Horn
Sand button = Enter/Leave Driver Cab
P button = Change Conductor/Driver Mode
Bell = Push/release OPC.
Whistle = Destination board Up/Down
Reverser = Reverser
Throttle = Throttle
Auto Brake = Train Brake
Ind Brake = Not used
Wiper switch = Not used
Lights switch = Not used
Up/Down Rocker = Manual Wiper
D-Pad = Up/Down Window

@PIE Amber, you can redistribute this script elsewhere if you like. Maybe link on the compatibility table.

Further script updates can be found in the same location.

Last edited by vvmm (2016-10-03 09:03:02)

Offline

#4 2016-10-03 09:18:15

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Wow, that's fantastic. Thank you for sharing this with us. We'll figure out the best way to offer it to other users.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#5 2016-10-05 08:26:36

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Hi vvmm,

In the spirit of improvement, we want to share our experiences after testing the script.

The biggest thing we're wondering is why you use the RailDriver.dll in the WoS script? Is this the same as the one used in Train Simulator? If so, just for a little background: that DLL is provided by Train Sim 2017 and should only work/be necessary with that sim. It is not a "RailDriver" dll exactly; it is a Train Sim DLL, basically Dovetail's API. Or did you create your own RailDriver.dll?

Other than that, it works great. We really appreciate these contributions.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#6 2016-10-05 11:39:06

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

The RailDriver.dll is the one in TS2017. I used the TS MW script as a template and left the DLLImport there. It is not used in any place. I will remove it entirely and clean-up the script ASAP.

Offline

#7 2016-10-05 11:44:40

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Awesome, that makes much more sense. :) Thanks again for sharing, it's great to have something to offer other WoS users.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#8 2016-10-07 04:34:43

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

I updated the script to version 1.7, which has RailDriver.dll import removed and some other cleanup. Also it contains fixes for unresponsive analog levers if moved too fast. I will continue to improve the script in the future if any other bugs or optimizations will be found. Meanwhile please test it to ensure that nothing was changed during cleanup and proceed to sharing if everything is fine. :)

Last edited by vvmm (2016-10-09 07:02:14)

Offline

#9 2016-10-07 07:33:02

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Great! We'll do some testing over the next few days.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#10 2016-10-18 12:11:50

Talkinnerdy
Member
Registered: 2016-10-17
Posts: 4

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

I tried this out this morning and it worked great!  Thanks!!

Offline

#11 2016-10-19 03:24:20

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Talkinnerdy wrote:

I tried this out this morning and it worked great!  Thanks!!

Thank you for your feedback! And have a great time playing WoS 4.

Offline

#12 2016-10-29 06:06:24

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Version 1.8 released.
Fixed braking lever going several times in the opposite direction when releasing brakes.

Offline

#13 2017-01-14 10:18:28

vvmm
Member
Registered: 2016-09-04
Posts: 16

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

@PIE Amber, any news on distributing the script with the MacroWorks app for the general public?

Offline

#14 2017-01-16 09:05:57

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

We do not yet have a strategy for doing this but we are considering how this might be best distributed. Doing an entirely new build (like we do with Train Sim) is probably not the best bet. We may provide it as a stand-alone download for use if you already have MW3.1, unless we can figure out something better.


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

#15 2017-06-13 16:28:24

vertexx
Member
Registered: 2017-06-13
Posts: 1

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

@vvmm

Thank you for your script, working great, was able to change the buttons too! My only concern is the LED Display, it's only showing "WOS", but not the speed.

Is there a way to fix it? Thanks.

Offline

#16 2017-06-28 10:03:28

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: World of Subways 4 Control Script

Hi, I just wanted to jump in here and explain that in order for the LED Display to show a real speed the actual simulator needs to be feeding it to us -- something not possible with a third-party script like this.

(It would require the WoS people to either write support or offer a way for us/vvmm to read the speed, neither of which are likely at this point unfortunately.)


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB