P.I. Engineering User Forum

Product Support, Technical Questions and Answers, and Examples for P.I. Engineering Products

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-10 06:02:34

tveast
Member
Registered: 2018-08-10
Posts: 3

XK-128 - index out of array limits

We have a couple of XK-128 keyboards, that we use in Hardware mode.

Yesterday I needed to reprogramming one of them with Macroworks on a new win 10 installation with .net 3.5 enabled.

First I had to erase the keyboard with EraseHWMacros.exe because whenever I was opening the keyboard in MW it was complaining about "index out of array limits" Error in ReadDervice().

After erasing, I was able to start working with the keyboard, but I had to start all over again since I just erased it.

Hereafter I noticed that whenever I started MW to make new changes, I had to choose in a dialogbox if it should work in software or Hardware mode even though the keyboard was initially programmed in hardware mode. There was an option to choose if the program should never show this dialog box again, but next time I opened MW I had to choose again.

Yesterday I was allmost finished with the programming of the keyboard, so today I just needed to make few changes, but this morning when trying to open the keyboard in MW I got the fault "index out of array limits".
I don't get the dialog box about choosing hardware or software mode.

I have tried to open the keyboard in Xkey basic with similar fault.
I have tried to uninstall and reinstall MW.
I have tried "run as administrator" for both installation and program.

Offline

#2 2018-08-10 08:15:48

PIE Liam
Technical Support Specialist
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 124
Website

Re: XK-128 - index out of array limits

If you have any scripts that you'd like to save please do that (if MW3.1 is not opening you can just copy/paste the "My Scripts" folder found here C:\Users\YourUserNameHere\AppData\Local\PI Engineering\MacroWorks 3 and place it on your desktop). Then uninstall MW3.1 and make sure to look for multiple instances of installations , then delete the "PI Engineering" folder found here  C:\Program Files (x86) AND the "PI Engineering" folder found here C:\Users\YourUserNameHere\AppData\Local. Download and install the latest version of MW3.1 here http://xkeys.com/PISupport/Software.php  and install and set to Run As Admin, then reboot the computer and use the Erase HWmacros tool one more time and then launch MW3.1 and try programming a few keys, if you do receive an error please send me a copy of the error log and exactly what you were doing just before the error happened to tech@piengineering.com . One more thing , this is our standard XK-128 correct? It isn't an OEM or KVM version?

Offline

#3 2018-08-14 07:56:25

tveast
Member
Registered: 2018-08-10
Posts: 3

Re: XK-128 - index out of array limits

I followed your instructions.

When opening MacroWorks with the erased keyboard attached, all button turns blue as it should.
I programmed a few buttons with normal keystrokes like q, w, e.
I then write to device
When closing MacroWorks I get a dialogbox "script out of alignment with device". Choosing yes will start another write to device action.
After closing MacroWorks I test the keyboard with notepad, but the new macros doesn't work. 
I hten opens MacroWorks again and get the "index out of array limits again" fault. 

I'm using your standard XK-128.

Offline

#4 Yesterday 08:07:29

PIE Jon
PI TECH SUPPORT
From: Somewhere
Registered: 2018-03-21
Posts: 9

Re: XK-128 - index out of array limits

Please contact us at Tech@piengineering.com .

Offline

#5 Today 09:02:18

tveast
Member
Registered: 2018-08-10
Posts: 3

Re: XK-128 - index out of array limits

Problem solved.

I had to upgrade the XK-128 firmware.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB