P.I. Engineering User Forum

Product Support, Technical Questions and Answers, and Examples for P.I. Engineering Products

You are not logged in.

#1 2018-08-08 17:41:39

ckawahara
Member
Registered: 2018-08-08
Posts: 2

Raildriver fails to calibrate within boundaries

Just recently, Raildriver's throttle lever has lost the ability to calibrate without exceeding the programmed boundaries.  Calibrating using the work-around that bypasses the limits works, but creates erratic performances. Increasing speed sometimes is results 13% value, somethimes 25% value.  When decelerating, the same positions do not yield the same values.  Zero throttle at times has to be set in the dynamic brake setup position.

The last time this happened, two things happened:
1- the cost for P.I. Engineering to repair it cost more than purchasing a new Raildriver.
2- the replacement part that I was sent so I could try to do-it-myself was different than the part in due unit, and would not mate with the existing hardware. This apparently due to design changes through the years.

So my question is: Can a replacement throttle be purchased on a "if it will fit" contingency?  The model number is RD-91-MDT-A. Do not know that purchase date, but it's been many years ago.

Offline

#2 2018-08-09 08:06:29

PIE Liam
Technical Support Specialist
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 137
Website

Re: Raildriver fails to calibrate within boundaries

"the replacement part that I was sent so I could try to do-it-myself was different than the part in due unit, and would not mate with the existing hardware. This apparently due to design changes through the years."

There has never been a change in the design.
From what you say , you're well past the one year hardware warranty, the only solution I see is to buy a replacement or send it in for "out of warranty" repair which as you've noted can cost almost as much as purchasing a new one when shipping rates are considered.

Offline

#3 2018-08-09 12:47:18

ckawahara
Member
Registered: 2018-08-08
Posts: 2

Re: Raildriver fails to calibrate within boundaries

Pardon my assumption about design changes.  For whatever reason then, the component sent could not be interchanged with the failed component.  The part was not interchangeable. Perhaps it wasn't the correct part? Never looked into that.

I am on my third Raildriver.  It seems that they do not last more than five years, and I am not a frequent user (ie. I only use it a few times a month).

Question: Since there has been no design change, can I purchase a replacement throttle/dynamic brake  component?

Question: Is there any means of adjusting the throttle/dynamic brake lever from within?  Perhaps a potentiometer of spring tensioner?

Thanks PIE Liam.

Offline

#4 2018-08-10 08:35:57

PIE Liam
Technical Support Specialist
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 137
Website

Re: Raildriver fails to calibrate within boundaries

No worries at all. Unfortunately I have to report that we do not have components to sell, in fact we don't have any in stock either, they are assembled in Taiwan and we only receive the completed units. I am surprised you were able to get a part in the first place (although about a year ago I did cannibalize an old test unit for a customer was that you?), and there is not really a GOOD way to adjust the throttle within the unit, there is a not-so-good way though that can result in rendering the unit unusable, I dare not post it here in such a public way but if you want to email me at tech@piengineering.com I can detail the procedure for you (with the appropriate warnings and disclaimers).

EDIT: Happy to report that the customer replied that the unit is working again.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB