P.I. Engineering User Forum

Product Support, Technical Questions and Answers, and Examples for P.I. Engineering Products

You are not logged in.

#1 2017-03-18 17:24:58

Quatermane
Member
Registered: 2017-03-18
Posts: 2

MWII and MacroWorks 3.1 error

Hello,

Any help on how to solve this would be appreciated.

I have an MWII that I am trying to set up on a Windows 7 system.
The Windows 7 system was recently rebuilt and I would like to use the MWII for a new project.
In any case, after installing the MacroWorks 3.1 software, I immediately get an error when the application comes up.

Here is a copy of what is in the error log.


Source       : System
Method      : EnsureState
Date          : 3/18/2017
Time          : 4:15:17 PM
Computer   : Serenity
Error          : No process is associated with this object.
MW3          : v.1.1.1.87
Handled     : True
Stack Trace : at System.Diagnostics.Process.EnsureState(State state)
   at System.Diagnostics.Process.get_HasExited()
   at MW3r.FormMain.isGUIFocused(Boolean& guiFocused)
   at MW3r.FormMain.XKeyHit(XKDevice device, Int32 cid, Boolean state, Int64 timestamp)
   at MW3r.FormMain.HandlePIEHidData(Byte[] data, PIEDevice sourceDevice, Int32 error)
Message : No process is associated with this object.
<<--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>
Source       : MacroWorks3g
Method      : ReadDeviceBuffer_mw2
Date          : 3/18/2017
Time          : 4:15:18 PM
Computer   : Serenity
Error          : Index was outside the bounds of the array.
MW3          : v.1.1.1.87
Handled     : False
Stack Trace : at MW3g.FormMain.ReadDeviceBuffer_mw2()
   at MW3g.FormMain.ReadDevice(Boolean progressBar, Boolean devConverted, Boolean updateScript, Boolean GUIHWMode)
   at MW3g.FormMain.SelectDevice_via_Combobox(DevItem itm, Boolean connected)
   at MW3g.FormMain.comboBoxDevice_SelectedIndexChanged(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.OnSelectedIndexChanged(EventArgs e)
   at ControlLib.ComboBoxEx.OnSelectedIndexChanged(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ComboBox.set_SelectedIndex(Int32 value)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ListControl.set_SelectedValue(Object value)
   at MW3g.FormMain.comboBoxSelectValue(ComboBox c, Object value)
   at MW3g.FormMain.SelectDevice_via_MW3r()
   at MW3g.FormMain..ctor(String[] args)
   at MW3g.Program..ctor()
   at MW3g.Program.Main(String[] args)
Message : Index was outside the bounds of the array.
<<--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------->>

Offline

#2 2017-03-18 21:57:05

Quatermane
Member
Registered: 2017-03-18
Posts: 2

Re: MWII and MacroWorks 3.1 error

Follow up... 
The error was from the latest version of Macroworks (3.1 - v1.1.1.87).
I found the older version of MacroWorks and no errors (3.0 - v1.0.3.2).
So I am good for now.

Guess my old MWII is getting to old for the newer software.

Offline

#3 2017-03-20 09:15:35

PIE Amber
Technical Software Developer
From: Williamston, MI
Registered: 2016-01-21
Posts: 196
Website

Re: MWII and MacroWorks 3.1 error

The error appears to be with reading the memory of the device. As the older version cannot even attempt to read the memory (it doesn't handle HW mode for your device), it makes sense that it would work. If you only want to use software mode, MW3.0 (what you're using) may be fine but please note that there are known problems with that software and it's not recommended.

We'd like to get to the bottom of why your device isn't able to be read by MW3.1. It may be getting blocked by your programming switch being down. Please try this: unplug your device, turn off your computer, flip the programming switch up, plug it back in, start your computer again. Start MW3.1. Do you still get the error?


Amber from P.I. Engineering

Online

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB